Bio21 researchers reap rewards at ComBio2107 conference

ComBio2017 was held at the Adelaide Convention Centre, 3 - 5 October 2017. ComBio2017 incorporates the annual meetings of: Australian Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology; Australian Society of Plant Scientists and Australia and New Zealand Society for Cell and Developmental Biology.

Bio21 researchers from the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, including the Tilley, van Driel, McConville, Gleeson and Hinde labs made a good showing, presenting their work and collecting awards for their presentations:

  • Jess Bridgford was presented an ABSMB Poster Prize. Jess presented her research on the role of polyubiquitinated protein build-up in the activity of artemisinin in the malaria parasite Plasmodium falciparum.
  • Dr Natalie Spillman was presented the 2017 ASBMB Eppendorf Edman Award. Natalie gave a talk about the action of artemisin in the malaria parasite Plasmodium falciparum.
  • Dr Heather Verkade was presented the Shimadzu Education Award.  Heather gave a talk about effectively using active learning with large class sizes.
  • Former Bio21 member Dr Yan Yan Yip was presented the 2017 ASBMB Boomerang Award. Yan gave a talk about how the microtubule motor protein kinesin-1 interacts with its cargo. 

Bio21 Institute members Emily Crisafulli, David Gillett, Haiyin Liu and Christian Makhoul all presented posters on their own exciting research.

Professor Michael Hall gave the ASBMB Grimwade Keynote Plenary Lecture about mTOR and its important role in growth and metabolism.