Georgina Sweet Awards for Women in Quantitative Biomedical Science

27 October 2016

A fabulous award ceremony was held on Thursday 27 October at the Bio21 Institute, University of Melbourne, to present the inaugural Georgina Sweet awards for women in quantitative biomedical science.

The $25,000 awards were created by Professor Leann Tilley as part of her Australian Laureate Fellowship Program with funding from the Australian Research Council.

Congratulations to the recipients of the 2016 Georgina Sweet Award for Women in Quantitative Biomedical Science: Assoc Prof Alicia Oshlack, Murdoch Childrens Research Institute; Assoc Prof Kathryn Holt, University of Melbourne, and Assoc Prof Freya Fowkes, Burnet Institute.

Following stellar presentations on their research by the awardees, Prof Margaret Sheil, Provost of the University of Melbourne, gave an inspiring talk on women and leadership, followed by a stimulating discussion chaired by the Dean of Science, Prof Karen Day, which continued informally at the celebratory reception. Kudos to Prof Tilley for this wonderful initiative, which raises the profile of women in science and showcases the work of mid-career researchers.

By Frances Separovic