To complement the physical infrastructure, the co-location of researchers from a range of University of Melbourne departments from the diverse fields of science, engineering, medicine, dental and health sciences, encourages interaction amongst the 550 plus scientists, students, administrators and industry researchers located within the complex.

Among the researchers based at the institute are:

Laureate Fellows: Professor Paul Mulvaney - Nanocrystal and Nanomechanics Laboratories, Professor Ary Hoffmann - Environmental Stress and Adaptation Laboratories

Federation Fellow: Professor Michael Parker - Structural Biology 

Laureate Professor Andrew Holmes - Chemical Synthesis Laboratories

Fellows of the Australian Academy of Science: Professor Tony Bacic, Professor Paul Mulvaney, Professor Michael Parker, Professor Andrew Holmes and Professor Frances Separovic.